Offical Nebraska Government Website

Frequently Asked Questions

In this section we have compiled a list of the questions asked most often by people calling the Driver and Vehicle Records Division. The questions have been broken down into the following categories:

Driving Records

Permits

Plates

Vehicle Registration

Vehicle Titles

Motorboats

Miscellaneous

 

Driving Records

How do I get a copy of my Driving Record?

My insurance company has informed me that an accident appearing on my driving record is showing as my fault and it wasnít. What can I do?

Where can I get a copy of an accident report?

Iíve been told that my driver license is suspended or has been revoked. Where can I get specific information?

Back to the top

 

Motorboats

Does my motorboat need to be titled?

How do I register my motorboat and how much will it cost?

If Iím not a resident of Nebraska do I have to register the boat here before I can use Nebraska lakes?

My motorboat doesnít have a Hull Identification Number. How do I get one?

Back to the top

 

Permits

How can I get a Handicapped Parking Permit?

Can I have a Handicapped Parking Permit and a Handicapped License Plate?

Back to the top

 

Plates

How can I get a Message or Specialty plate?

What kind of Specialty plates does Nebraska offer?

How can I see if the message that I want is available?

I have a Message plate and I just bought a new car. Can I transfer my Message plate to the new car?

I just bought a new vehicle. Can I put my old plates on it during the 30 days I have to register?

Back to the top

 

Vehicle Registration

Iíve lost my vehicleís registration. How do I replace it?

Iíve just moved to Nebraska from another state. How long do I have to register my vehicle? Where do I register? How much will it cost?

I just moved from Nebraska to another state. Can I get a refund on my plates and registration?

What are the insurance requirements in Nebraska?

I just moved from one county in Nebraska to another. Do I need to get new plates and registration in my new county?

Itís time to renew my vehicleís registration and I havenít received my renewal postcard. What should I do ?

What is the penalty if I donít register my vehicle within 30 days?

Back to the top

 

Vehicle Titles

How do I get a title for my vehicle?

Iíve lost the title for my vehicle. What can I do?

How is a lien noted/released on a title?

How do I get a title history for a vehicle?

How can I get a Nebraska title for a vehicle Iím bringing from another country?

I sold a vehicle some time ago and the buyer never put the title in his name. Iím still showing as the titled owner. What can I do?

Back to the top

 

Miscellaneous Questions

What are the acceptable methods of payment?

When a vehicle is sold in a private sale, what is the correct procedure?

How do I obtain an ďIn TransitĒ sticker?

What can I do if a vehicle has been abandoned on my property?

If I have a license plate number, can I find out who owns the vehicle?

Iím not a resident of Nebraska but I just bought a car here. How do I get it home?

Back to the top

<

 

Driver Records

How do I get a copy of my Driving Record?

There are two methods for obtaining a copy of your driving record.

  • You can purchase a copy of your driving record online with a credit card or electronic check (fee is $3.00) at Online Driving Record Request. (Note: You must have an email address to use this option.)
  • You can purchase a certified copy of your driving record by submitting a completed application, along with a $3.00 fee in the form of a check or money order, to the DMV. For specific information regarding procedure, and to download an application, refer to Driving Records Requests.

Back

 

My insurance company has informed me that an accident appearing on my driving record is showing as my fault and it wasnít. What can I do?

All certified driving records issued by the DMV contain the following statement,

ďAny entry for an accident which may appear above is for statistical purposes only and does not indicate a determination of faultĒ.

If your insurance company has information that indicates you were at fault in an accident, you will need to first determine where they obtained the information and begin with their source to correct the error. It could also be helpful for you to contact the Nebraska Department of Roads - Accident Records and obtain a copy of the accident report to submit to your insurance company to assist in the correction of the error.

Back

 

Where can I get a copy of an accident report?

The repository for accident records is the Nebraska Department of Roads

Back

 

Iíve been told that my driver license is suspended or has been revoked. Where can I get specific information?

Contact the Financial Responsibility Division for specific information regarding driver license suspensions and revocations

Back

 

Motorboats

Does my motorboat need to be titled?

Nebraska law requires any boat with a motor that was manufactured after November 1, 1972 must be titled. Specific information regarding titling motorboats, including documentation requirements and fees, may be found on our website at Motorboat Certificates of Title.

Back

 

How do I register my motorboat and how much will it cost?

Your county Motor Vehicle Office registers motorboats. For specific information regarding the registration of boats in Nebraska including documentation requirements, fees, and acceptable methods of payment, please contact your Motor Vehicle Office.

Back

 

If Iím not a resident of Nebraska do I have to register the boat here before I can use Nebraska lakes?

No. However, you should be prepared to produce proof of registration from your home state at the request of a Nebraska Game and Parks representative.

Back

 

My motorboat doesnít have a Hull Identification Number. How do I get one?

Complete instructions for making application for a Hull Identification Number and the necessary application may be downloaded on our website at Assigned ID Numbers.

Back

 

Permits

How can I get a Handicapped Parking Permit?

The procedure for applying for a Handicapped Parking Permit and an Application for Handicapped Parking Permit can be downloaded on our website at Handicapped Parking Permits.

Back

 

Can I have a Handicapped Parking Permit and a Handicapped License Plate?

Yes. Two Handicapped Parking Permits are allowed per handicapped individual and the individual may also make application for one set of Handicapped License Plates for a motor vehicle and one Handicapped License Plate for a motorcycle in addition to their permit.

Back

 

For more information regarding Handicapped Parking Permits and to download an application, visit our website at Handicapped Parking Permits.

Back

 

Additional information about Handicapped License Plates and an application can be downloaded on our website at Handicapped License Plates.

Back

 

Plates

How can I get a message or specialty plate?

There are two methods for purchasing a message or specialty plate.

  • Online with a credit card or electronic check at Online Specialty Plates.
  • Submit an application and appropirate fee, in the form of a check or money order (cash is acceptable if the application is submitted in person), to the DMV in Lincoln. To download applications and obtain information for specific plates, please refer to Specialty Plates.
    (NOTE: When making application for a plate with a message, be very sure that every choice listed on your application is acceptable. We are unable to accept requests for refunds.
  • )

Back

 

What kind of Specialty plates does Nebraska offer?

To see the types of plates offered in Nebraska, please refer to Specialty Plates. To see examples of plates issued by the State of Nebraska, please refer to Nebraska License Plates.

Back

 

How can I see if the message that I want is available?

You can check to see if your choice of message is currently available on our website at Online Specialty Plates.

Back

Note: An indication that the message is available is not a guarantee that is the message you will receive. Always be sure to list more than one choice and that all choices listed are acceptable to you. If you are only interested in one message, list that one choice only and if the choice is taken, your application and fee will be returned to you.

 

I have a Message plate and I just bought a new car. Can I transfer my Message plate to the new car?

Yes. As long as the title on the new vehicle contains the name of at least one of the owners on the title for the vehicle to which the plates were registered. When you are ready to register the new vehicle bring your plates and the registration to your county Motor Vehicle Office and tell them that you wish to transfer your Message plate to the new vehicle.

Back

 

I just bought a new vehicle. Can I put my old plates on it during the 30 days I have to register?

Yes. Just be sure to carry your ownership documents with you so that in the event you are stopped by law enforcement you can provide the proper evidence of ownership.

Back

 

Vehicle Registration

Iíve lost my vehicleís registration. How do I replace it?

You will need to contact the Motor Vehicle Office in the county where the registration was issued and request a replacement. The replacement fee is $6.75.

Back

 

Iíve just moved to Nebraska from another state. How long do I have to register my vehicle? Where do I register? How much will it cost?

You have 30 days to register your vehicle at your local Motor Vehicle Office. To see an approximate cost to register your vehicle (if the vehicle is less that 14 years old) please refer to the Vehicle Tax Estimator. To determine actual registration fees and taxes, contact the Motor Vehicle Office in your county of residence. Please refer to Vehicle Registrations for specific information about motor vehicle registration.

Back

 

I just moved from Nebraska to another state. Can I get a refund on my plates and registration?

Depending on when you last renewed your vehicleís registration, you may be eligible to apply for a refund of the unused portion of your registration fees, motor vehicle taxes and motor vehicle fees. For specific information about obtaining a refund, please refer to Registration Refunds and Credits.

Back

 

What are the insurance requirements in Nebraska?

Information regarding insurance requirements in Nebraska may be found on our website at Insurance Requirements.

Back

 

I just moved from one county in Nebraska to another. Do I need to get new plates and registration in my new county?

No. It is not necessary to obtain a registration and license plates in your new county until your vehicleís regular registration renewal is due. However, you will need to contact the Motor Vehicle Office in your new county of residence to determine if you need to pay any local wheel tax.

Back

 

Itís time to renew my vehicleís registration and I havenít received my renewal postcard. What should I do?

Contact your local Motor Vehicle Office.

Back

 

What is the penalty if I donít register my vehicle within 30 days?

There are no additional fees or penalties added by the county if you are late obtaining a registration for your vehicle. You should be aware that if you are stopped by law enforcement, you could be issued a citation for operating a vehicle that is not properly registered. Also, while there is no penalty for late registration, there is a penalty assessed if sales tax is not paid within 30 days if the vehicle is a new purchase. Contact your local Motor Vehicle Office to determine specific penalties for late payment of sales tax.

Back

 

Vehicle Titles

How do I get a title for my vehicle?

The Motor Vehicle Office in each county issues titles. For specific information about obtaining a Nebraska Certificate of Title for a vehicle, visit our website at Motor Vehicle Titles.

Back

 

Iíve lost the title for my vehicle. What can I do?

When a title has been lost, destroyed, or mutilated, you can obtain a duplicate title from the Motor Vehicle Office in any county. Additional information about obtaining a duplicate title can be found on our website at Duplicate Certificate of Title.

Back

 

How is a lien noted/released on a title?

Lien information can be found on our website at Lien Notations.

Back

 

How do I get a title history for a vehicle?

The title history of a vehicle is only available in cases where litigation is pending on the vehicle. For further information, please contact Title History.

Back

 

How can I get a Nebraska title for a vehicle Iím bringing from another country?

To see a list of the necessary documentation and procedures for obtaining a Nebraska title on a vehicle coming into Nebraska from a foreign country, please refer to Imported Vehicles.

Back

 

I sold a vehicle some time ago and the buyer never put the title in his name. Iím still showing as the titled owner. What can I do?

You will need to contact the individual(s) who purchased the vehicle and request that they have a title issued in their name. If you are unable to locate the current owner of the vehicle or they refuse, your only option is to retain all documents pertaining to the sale of the vehicle as proof that you sold it.

Back

 

Miscellaneous Questions

What are the acceptable methods of payment?

For services provided by the Department of Motor Vehicles, this would include Vehicle and Driver Record Requests and Applications for Specialty Plates, a check or money order is acceptable.

For services provided by county offices, such as title and registration issuance, you will need to contact the specific Motor Vehicle Office to determine acceptable methods of payment.

Back

 

When a vehicle is sold in a private sale, what is the correct procedure?

The seller of the vehicle must provide a current, properly assigned, Certificate of Title, Bill of Sale or completed Department of Revenue Form 6 to the buyer at the time of sale. For further details regarding a vehicle sale, please refer to Transfer of Ownership.

Back

 

How do I obtain an ďIn TransitĒ sticker?

In Transit stickers can be issued by licensed dealerships only. They can only be issued once and are good for a 30 day period.

They cannot be used if the vehicle is purchased through a private sale. For vehicles purchased privately, you will need to carry your ownership papers with you until the vehicle is titled and registered in your name. You have 30 days from the date of purchase to title and register the vehicle.

Back

 

What can I do if a vehicle has been abandoned on my property?

Vehicles that have been abandoned are property of law enforcement or the local authority and you should contact your local law enforcement agency

Back

 

If I have a license plate number, can I find out who owns the vehicle?

If your intended use for the information is listed as an Exempted Use under the Uniform Motor Vehicle Records Disclosure Act, you may submit an Application for Copy of Vehicle Record. Please refer to Vehicle Record Requests for specific procedure and fees and to download and application.

Back

 

Iím not a resident of Nebraska but I just bought a car here. How do I get it home?

Please refer to our website for information regarding Non-Resident 30 Day Plates.

Back