Offical Nebraska Government Website

ODOMETER CERTIFICATION

When transferring ownership on any motor vehicle or motorcycle equipped with an odometer by the manufacturer, that is less than ten (10) years old, the seller is required to provide the buyer with a signed statement certifying the odometer reading at the time of sale.

To determine if a vehicle is exempt from odometer certification under the ten (10) year old or older clause of the Federal Truth in Mileage Act of 1986, subtract 10 from the current calendar year and the answer is the first year of exemption. (2002 – 10 = 1992).

Starting on January 1, 1989, Certificates of Title were redesigned to include the Odometer Statement. Because vehicles 10 years old or older are exempt, after January 1, 1999, odometer certification will be accepted only on the Certificate of Title or Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO) and no separate attachment will be accepted, with the following exceptions:

A separate Odometer Disclosure Statement may be attached to :

Motor vehicles exempt from odometer certification :

  • Any motor vehicle exceeding sixteen thousand (16,000) pounds gross rated capacity;
  • Motorcycles manufactured without odometers (off-road vehicles)
  • Odometer notations on Nebraska Certificates of Title will be one of the following :
  • Actual – mileage is, to the best of the seller's knowledge, the actual mileage driven by the motor vehicle;
  • Not Actual – the seller has knowledge that the odometer reading differs from the actual mileage and that the difference is greater than that caused by odometer calibration error;
  • Exceeds Mechanical Limits – the seller has knowledge that the mileage shown on the odometer is in excess of the designated mechanical odometer limit;
  • Exempt – vehicle is 10 year old or older or motor vehicle exceeds sixteen thousand pounds gross rated capacity. Once the odometer reading on a title is recorded as exempt, the mileage cannot be recorded on any future titles.

If the vehicle's mileage is recorded in kilometers, it must be converted to odometer miles by the seller and acknowledged by the buyer. (1 kilometer = 0.621 miles) The odometer head and appropriate gears can be replaced with an odometer reading miles. The seller must retain a copy of the odometer statement for at least five (5) years from the date of transfer of ownership.

If the odometer statement is for an Assembled Vehicle , the ten year old exempt status is determined by the year the vehicle was assembled. For example, if a vehicle is a 2002 assembled, the odometer would be determined exempt in the year 2012.

If an odometer must be repaired or replaced , the reading on the new odometer is to set at the mileage of the one replaced.

If the new odometer is unable to register the appropriate mileage, then the odometer must be set at zero (0). If it is necessary to set the mileage at zero, you must contact the DMV and request in writing an “Odometer Notice” sticker. The date of the odometer's repair or replacement must be indicated on the sticker as well as the mileage on the vehicle prior to the work performed on the odometer. When the vehicle is sold, the odometer reading must indicate “Not Actual”.

Questions regarding odometer statements can be addressed to E-Mail or by contacting this office at (402) 471-3918.

 

This page last revised 9/14/2009.