Offical Nebraska Government Website

Avoid Peak Times

Avoid peak busy times at the Driver Licensing offices: 1) after 3:00 p.m. each work day, 2) when schools are not in session, and 3) the day before and after a holiday.

Renewal Period

Take advantage of your driver's license renewal period.

Renewal Notice Card

If you received a Renewal Notice from the DMV, please update it and present it to Driver Licensing Staff when renewing. It will save you time!

Think Youíre Ready to Test?

Take the time to carefully review the Nebraska Drivers Manual. Over 60% of first-time applicants fail the written test.

Commercial Drivers:

How will the Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act of 1999 (MCSIA) Affect YOU?

The U. S. Department of Transportationís Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration issued regulations, which implement provisions of the Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act of 1999 (MCSIA).† These regulations significantly strengthen the licensing and sanctioning requirements of the commercial driverís license (CDL) program for truck and bus drivers required to hold a CDL.† This brochure is intended to inform commercial drivers of the changes that go into effect on September 30, 2005.

1.† S-School Bus Endorsement.† This new endorsement went into effect October 2004 in Nebraska.† School bus drivers must hold a CDL with a Passenger (P) and School Bus (S) endorsement.† The S endorsement requires a written and a skills test.

2. 10 Year Driving History:

For CDL applicants who are applying for a new license, renewing or upgrading a license or transferring a license from one jurisdiction to another, the DMV must request a driverís record from all other jurisdictions that have issued a driverís license to the applicant during the previous 10 years.†† Therefore, when you†† make application for a Nebraska CDL, you will have to provide the names of all states that you held a license in during the past 10 years.

3.† New Major Disqualifying Offenses For CDL Holders:†

Major Disqualifying Offenses Operating Any Motor Vehicle (Is Not Limited To Operation Of A CMV):

  • Driving any motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance.†
  • Refusing to take an alcohol or drug test after operating any motor vehicle.
  • Leaving the scene of an accident driving any motor vehicle.
  • Committing a felony offense involving the use of any motor vehicle.

4.† Major Disqualifying Offense Operating A CMV (Does Not Need To Be A CDL Holder But Must Be Operating A CMV):

  • Driving a CMV while the personís alcohol level is 0.04% or more.
  • Driving a CMV while the driverís CDL is revoked, suspended, canceled, or the driver is disqualified from operating a CMV.
  • Causing a fatality through the negligent operation of a CMV, including motor vehicle homicide.

After the first major offense, the disqualification is for one year.† If the vehicle is transporting hazardous materials required to be placarded, the disqualification is for three years.†† A second offense will result in your CDL being† disqualified for life.

5. Any CDL Holder Using Any Motor Vehicle In The Commission Of A Felony Involving Manufacturing, Distributing Or Dispensing A Controlled Substance Will Be Disqualified For Life.

6.† New Disqualifying Offenses:

Should any of the offenses occur while the CDL holder is operating a non-CMV and the court conviction results in the license being revoked or impounded by the court, it will be considered a serious offense and count towards disqualification.

  • Speeding excessively, involving any speed of 15 or more above the posted speed limit.
  • Willful reckless or reckless driving.
  • Making improper or erratic traffic lane changes.
  • Following the vehicle ahead too closely.
  • Any traffic control violation in connection with a fatal accident.

7.† New Serious Offenses:†

Three new serious offenses have been added to the list of serious traffic violations.†† 2 convictions within 3 years results in a 60 day disqualification and a 3rd conviction within 3 years† results in a 120 day disqualification.† These are:

  • Driving a CMV without obtaining a CDL.
  • Driving a CMV without a current CDL in the driverís possession
  • Driving a CMV without the proper class or endorsement for the specific vehicle being operated.

8.† Continued Common Violations That Result in Disqualification:

Railroad crossing violations and Out of Service Orders (Driver and Vehicle)-refer to section 383.51 Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations table 3 and 4 for more information.

9. CDLIS Record Checks:† Record checks of the Commercial Drivers License Information System (CDLIS) will be conducted for all applicants regardless of the type of license/permit they are applying for.† If a CDL holder in another state is now downgrading to an operatorís license in Nebraska, a change state of record will be done and the previous stateís driving record will follow the driver to Nebraska.

If you have additional questions, please contact the Department of Motor Vehicles at 402-471-3861 or 402-471-3985 or FMCSAís website:

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/


DMV Employee Email System

CDL Third Party