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Reprieve of Fifteen-Year License Revocation 
 
 The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) receives applications which ask the 
Director to make a recommendation to the Nebraska Board of Pardons for a reprieve of the fifteen-
year revocation. 

 
Completing an application for reprieve and submitting a non-refundable $100 

application fee does NOT guarantee the applicant will receive the reprieve. The Board of 
Pardons, which consists of the Governor, the Secretary of State, and the Attorney General decide 
whether or not to grant the reprieve. The Board of Pardon’s policy requires the applicant to have 
seven years of the fifteen year revocation served, seven years of sobriety, and seven years of 
a clean criminal record. After you have filed the application, the process can take a year or 
longer before an applicant will receive a decision from the Board of Pardons.  

 
Applicants must submit a completed application for reprieve with a non-refundable $100 

application fee. The DMV can only receive cash, cashier’s check, or money orders payable to the 
DMV. 

An applicant:  
1. Must have a completed state-certified substance abuse treatment program or prove they 

have substantially recovered from the dependency on or tendency to abuse alcohol or drugs.   
2. Must submit three affidavits from individuals that can support the applicant’s sobriety (copies 

can be made of the one included in the application), copies of court documents showing the sentence 
received from the judge, and proof that court costs have been paid. 
 3. Must submit a current evaluation from a state-certified substance abuse counselor.  The 
DMV uses the information contained in that evaluation as well as the recommendations of the 
evaluator in coming to a decision on whether or not to recommend a reprieve. 

 
A reprieve only allows restricted driving privileges. A reprieve does not remove the driving 

under the influence conviction or revocation from the applicant’s record. If the Board of Pardons 
grants a reprieve, a Nebraska resident will be eligible for an Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP) which is not 
the same as a regular driver’s license. A person may only operate a motor vehicle with an ignition 
interlock device installed on the vehicle. An ignition interlock permit has restrictions. More information 
about an IIP can be found at https://www.dmv.nebraska.gov.   

 
DISCLAIMER FOR NON-RESIDENTS:  A grant of reprieve in Nebraska does not 

guarantee that you may drive where you are living now.  You must contact the driver’s 
licensing agency where you live to determine if you will be eligible for any driving privileges in 
that state.  Whether or not the reprieve will allow you any driving privileges is a matter of the 
law in the state where you live.   

 
Please contact the DMV Legal staff at 402-471-9593 for more information. 

https://www.dmv.nebraska.gov/

