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Reprieve of the Fifteen Year License Revocation and Commutation of the Lifetime Driver's License Revocation 
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A person whose driver 's hcense has been revol<ed for fifteen years in Nebraska as part of a sentence for drunk driving under the influence third or subsequent offense 
may apply for a reprieve from the Board oi Pardons. The application for reprieve is made to the DMV, which reviews it and forwards it to the Board of Pardons If the 
Board grants a reprieve, a Nebraska resident may drive a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device (BAUD) after applying for an ignition interlock permit (IIP) 

The Board of Pardon has stated that it will not grant a pardon until the applicant has served seven years of the fifteen year revocation. It also requires the applicant to 
have been sober with a clean criminal record for seven years 

A non-resident must contact his home state to detennine his driving eligibility A reprieve in Nebraska does not mean that another state will grant driving privleges 

Eligiblity for the Reprieve 

The DMV reviews the appplication for compliance with the following criteria, which are set in statute, The applicant must: 

• $100 Non-refundable Application Fee, Payment must be in the form of cash, a cashier 's check, or money order made payable to the Department of Motor 
Vehicles. When submitting payment, include identifying information (i,e name, date of birth, license or social security number and current mailing address) 
Payment submitted by personal or business checks or not for the required amount will be returned. Payment of the application fee does not guarantee a reprieve 

• Have completed a state-certified substance abuse program and be in recovery, or show recovery without benefit of treatment, 
• Submit a current substance abuse evaluation. 
• Have no subsequent drunk driving convictions, 
• Have no subsequent driving during revocation convictions. 
• Demonstrate abstention from the consumption of alcohol and abstention from the illegal consumption of drugs for a significant period, 
• Have no driver's license suspensions or revocations for any reason in this or any other state 

The Board of Pardon s policy requires the applicant to have seven years of the fifteen year revocation served, seven years of sobriety, and seven years of a clean 
criminal record. 

Application 

Contact the Legal Division at the following: 

Legal Department 
Dept. Of Motor Vehicles 
P C Box 94699 
Lincoln, NE 68509-4699 

Phone: 402-471-9593 

Downkuul . Vnolicaiion 

When you receive your application, fill it out completely All questions must be answered fully and truthfully. Any applications with unanswered questions will be 
returned 

The Reprieve Application 

The DMV will process the application and make a recommendaton to the Board of Pardons The recommendation and application is sent to the Board. This process may 
take several months. 

Board of Pardon Hearing 

The Board of Pardons will set the application for a hearing. After review of the application the Board will vote whether or not to hold a final hearing for the application 
and permit the applicant to address the Board. If the Board declines to set a final hearing, the file is closed and there will be no reprieve if the Board votes to set a final 
hearing, it will notify the applicant of the date 

The reprieve means that the (5 year license revocation remains in place, but the applicant is given the right to drive a vehicle equipped with and IIP for the remainder of 
the 15 years 

Non-resident: A grant of reprieve for a non-resident of Nebraska does not guarantee that the person will be able to drive in a state other than Nebraska Driving 
privileges in other states depend on the laws of the other state 

Contact us. 

To contact the legal division about any the above matters,cail (402) 471-9593, or write us at PC Box 94699. Lincoln NE 68509 You may cnuiil the legal division, We 
do not accept any legal documents by email. 
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